Chicken Noodle Soup

Its almost the end of winter but I simply had to sneak in this warm, hearty chicken noodle soup. My children really enjoyed it, and to me, that is the most important thing about anything I cook in my kitchen these days – someone has to love it or it doesn’t get cooked again!

I’d never made chicken noodle soup before this, probably because my husband has an aversion to all soup except potato and leek! Its something to do with his memories of childhood and being fed chicken soup while suffering a bout of gastro. Hmmm . . not pleasant.

Now that I have two little kids, they’ve become my guinea pigs! They really enjoyed the chunks of chicken and the slippery noodles. I warn you, this is a thick soup, perhaps close to a stew!

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 large carrot, diced
1 celery stalk, diced
1 kilo of chicken drumsticks
1.5 litres chicken stock
100g dried noodles
2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot and cook the onion, carrot and celery for two minutes. Add the garlic and cook for a futher two minutes. Add the chicken drumsticks and stock and bring to a gentle boil. Adjust the heat to a simmer, pop the lid on the pot and cook until the meat on the drumsticks is tender and falls away from the bone.

Carefully lift out the drumsticks and remove the meat to a separate bowl. Discard the bones. Carefully strain the stock if you wish (saving the veggies to return to the pot) or skim off the scum that has formed.

Return the chicken meat to the pot, add the noodles and continue to cook until the noodles are al dente. Adjust the seasoning. Stir in the parsley and serve.

Leave a comment