Homemade Nutella and my real life . . .

IMG_5528

I’ve not had much time to blog. Obviously, life gets in the way and on the ever-growing list of things to do blogging is the least of my priorities.

I am truly envious of those bloggers who blog regularly; blog weekly, daily even. I just don’t have it in me at the moment to churn out posts.

To say that this year has been busy is an understatement. Rather, this year has been tough. Exhausting. Disappointing and challenging.

This year has been hard because my husband and I took a risk and expanded our online business to a bricks and mortar shop that we leased for a two year term. I don’t want to believe that we made a mistake, or that we did anything wrong, but it has not been a fruitful decision in monetary terms. In many ways it has been exciting and rewarding and for my husband, the fulfilment of his lifelong dream. But, the leap we took has cost us much, namely our home.

To add to the mess I lost my job, a job I’d had for almost 15 years. In fact, everyone at my organisation lost their jobs. Thankfully I have since been redeployed. I feel lucky that I have a job to go to, because many haven’t, but it just isn’t the same.

I am grateful for food and cooking, because it makes me happy. Like this homemade nutella.

I don’t often buy the store bought stuff, for obvious reasons. You’ll be disappointed (and I certainly am!) to know that my children did not eat this homemade nutella. I guess it wasn’t sweet enough or smooth enough. I loved it, of course. I didn’t slather it on toast but I did have it with ice-cream, and that probably wasn’t too healthy.

The recipe is from a blog called hungry cub. Big thanks for putting it out into the blogosphere.

1 cup roasted and skinned hazelnuts
1 tablespoon coconut oil, softened
3 tablespoons cocoa or cacao
4 tablespoons maple syrup
5 tablespoons coconut milk
pinch salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Blend the hazelnuts in a food processor until they turn into the consistency of butter. Add the coconut oil and blend until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and process until you have a lovely smooth mixture. Don’t worry if its too runny as it will thicken up once refrigerated. Spoon into a jar and store in the fridge for up to a week.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Nutella and my real life . . .

  1. I love nutella and would definitely give this healthier alternative a whirl! Hope 2015 will turns things around, happy new year and all the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

