Coconut Basil Chicken Curry

You can even add some chickpeas for added nutrition!

My son loves a curry. He is eight now and has enjoyed curry since he was a toddler. I think I have Child Care to thank. Curry was usually on the menu for lunch at his Child Care Centre so I’m sure his palate became accustomed to the array of spices, even though I’m sure they didn’t add chilli to theirs.

I make this curry often in winter, but its also nice to have on milder Summer days, or any time really. I doubt people in India stop having curry in their hot Summer!

The flavour combinations work really well. I love the addition of basil and my kids enjoy the sweetness from the coconut.

It really is easy to whip up and leaves those store-bought curries in a jar for dead!

Coconut Basil Chicken Curry

Inspired by Bev Cooks

1 kilo chicken thighs
2 teaspoons turmeric powder
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons cumin powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons salt
juice of 1 lime
1 tablespoon rice bran oil

1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 cm piece of ginger, minced
1 tablespoon rice bran oil
1 tablespoon butter
2 teaspoons store-bought curry paste
2 cans of coconut cream
1 cup chicken stock
2 medium carrots, sliced
1 bunch basil, chopped
100g baby spinach

Start by marinating the chicken in the spice mix. I usually lay out my chicken thighs and shake the spices over the top, along with the lime juice, oil and salt. I then give them a good mix and set aside while I chop and mince the onion, garic and ginger.

In a large casserole pan I melt the butter with the oil then saute the onion, garlic and ginger with the curry paste on medium heat. Turn the heat up to medium high and fry off the chicken thighs until they are starting to get little black bits.

Add the stock, coconut cream and carrots and bring to a simmer. Let cook for about an hour until the chicken is really tender and falls apart. Lastly add the spinach and basil til it wilts and then serve with rice, pappadums and plain yoghurt.

4 thoughts on “Coconut Basil Chicken Curry

  1. Rachel, I can’t believe your son is now 8 years old- seems just like yesterday that he was only four! I remember the child care centres serving Mac and Cheese and Chicken Nuggets to my kids- I’m glad they have now expanded their menus into something more sophisticated. Looks like your recipe has all the required ‘authentic flavours’ of the real deal!

Leave a Reply

