Christmas Risoni Salad

IMG_5964.jpg

The Christmas season is upon us and with it comes thoughts of what to cook or prepare for those catch ups with friends and celebrations with family. My Christmas Risoni Salad is great to have alongside a casual BBQ or a more formal Turkey dinner.

I’ve been making this salad for so many years now that at one point I got so tired of it I just couldn’t make it anymore. But everyone I know still loves it and I’ve had so many people ask for the recipe. I don’t know why I haven’t blogged it until now!

I’ve added feta to the original recipe because I felt the risoni needed a creamy element.

Kid friendly? My kids enjoy it but I usually have to leave out the spring onions and the feta.

This year we are having a country Christmas and guess what I’ll be making?

Christmas Risoni Salad

Inspired by the Channel Nine Kitchen

400g risoni
8 slices prosciutto
25 ml red wine vinegar
50ml extra virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 spring onions, finely sliced
100-150g danish feta, crumbled
½ cup apricots, finely chopped
50g pine nuts, toasted
½ cup basil leaves, chopped
¼ cup chopped Italian parsley

Bring a large pot of salted water to the boil. Add risoni and cook according to packet instructions. Set aside and don’t rinse.

Place prosciutto in a large heated frying pan and cook until crisp. Remove and roughly chop. Throw your cooked risoni into the frying pan and move the pan off the heat. Give the risoni a good toss to coat it in the fat leftover from the prosciutto (this gives amazing flavour to the risoni) and then transfer to a large mixing bowl.

Mix together vinegar, olive oil and mustard in a small bowl and then pour this over the risoni. Add the prosciutto and the remaining ingredients. Season with salt and pepper (go easy on the salt to start with as the prosciutto and feta will make the salad salty to begin with) and then give the whole thing a good mix. If not serving straight away, the salad can be refrigerated but remember to bring it to room temperature being serving. This salad tastes much better if left to develop flavours over a few hours or even overnight.

Leave a Reply

