Our Favourite Pizza Dough

So, we’ve been eating a lot of pizza lately. Due to the fact we are never quite impressed with the pizza we order from local pizza joints, I started experimenting with different pizza dough recipes. (See, it was all out of desperation.)

I found this one thanks to Poh Ling Yeow, and her TV show, Poh & Co. On one episode her mate Andre Ursini brought along friend Mauro Gulli to cook some pizza in Andre’s backyard pizza oven. The result looked amazing, so I googled the recipe and we’ve been using it ever since.

The recipe is easy, and very adaptable to different flours. I have used a portion of spelt and wholemeal, along with 100% regular pizza flour. I have let the dough prove on the bench for the recommended amount of time, and I have also slow-proved it in the fridge over night. Every time it works out great, producing a lovely smooth, crispy crust for our favourite toppings.

Thanks to this pizza dough I’ve discovered a love of kneading. I seriously can’t believe it, considering its put me off in the past. One of the things I love about cooking is that it continuously challenges me. Scones, pastry, they were all things I once feared, but now love to make. Next challenge is bread!

Pizza Dough

by Mauro Gulli (with some adaptations) as featured on Poh & Co

7 g(1 sachet) dried yeast
1 tsp caster sugar
300 ml warm filtered water
500g (3⅓ cups) strong bread flour or pizza flour
3 tsp olive oil, plus extra, for greasing
15 g fine sea salt

Measure the water into a jug and add the yeast and sugar and stir well. Allow to stand and get foamy for about 10 minutes.

To a large bowl add the flour. Make a well in the centre and pour in the water/yeast/sugar mixture and the olive oil. Bring together with your hands. When combined, add the salt. Knead for at least 10 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic.

Place your dough ball in a well-oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and leave to prove for an hour, or until doubled in size. Alternatively, place covered bowl in the fridge for 24 hours. When almost ready to use, take bowl out of the fridge, allow the dough to come to room temperature and then prove for an hour. Then you’re ready to shape, put on your toppings and cook. Make sure that you’ve preheated your oven to its maximum temperature – around 250 degrees celcius.

2 thoughts on “Our Favourite Pizza Dough

  1. Rachel, your pizzas certainly do look colourful. I recently attended a workshop in making pizzas in a wood-fired oven- they tasted great, but it’s quite expensive to have one built. I agree with you, I think homemade pizzas are the best and I find that using a pizza stone gives them a nice crusty texture. Thanks for sharing!

    • You’ve just reminded me to try a pizza stone again Fran. I had one in the past and loved it. I’ve heard of cooking pizza in a bbq so that might be a good wood oven alternative!

Leave a Reply

