Pancakes, finally

 *Update: I’ve made these using buttermilk and they are even better! So much fluffier! Try using 1 and 1/4 to 1 and 1/3 cups of buttermilk in place of whole milk.

To me, pancakes are synonymous with holidays. My kids are nearing the end of their seven and a half weeks of summer holidays and I’ve made pancakes a few times (even once when my husband was home to eat them and I completely stuffed them up!). The kids always love them and I feel that finally I have perfected my recipe, after many years of lamenting over how pancakes never work for me (the reason why I often make a baked pancake).

So the kids are back to school in less than a week. The youngest, Miss 4, is starting her very first year. She is more than ready, and me, I have mixed emotions. There are pangs of, oh gosh, my baby is not a baby anymore (and therefore should I have another one before its too late?), to creeping exhilaration that yes, the baby and toddler years are finally behind us, both children will be at school and I’ll finally have some time to myself!

Now is the time to start thinking about this blog. I have a reprieve from working any extra hours at my day job, so the goal is to decide how best to move forward with my writing and food photography. It feels exciting to get the chance to do this. It feels exciting to think about me, just me.

My Pancake Recipe

Makes about 8 pancakes

1/2 cup spelt flour, sifted
2/3 cup self-raising flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda
Pinch salt
1 tablespoon sugar (rapadura is my preferred choice)
1 cup milk (full fat organic or if you like buttermilk, use 1 and a 1/4 cups)
1 free-range or organic egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon butter, melted

Combine dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Combine milk, egg, vanilla and melted butter in a jug or small bowl and mix to combine. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix gently until there are no traces of flour left. Do not over mix – and do not worry about lumps. Let batter rest for at least 20 minutes.

Heat oven to 100 degrees celcius. You’ll use the oven to keep your pancakes warm and to ensure they are properly cooked.

Heat a small non-stick fry pan over medium-low heat. Use a 1/3 cup measure to ladle batter into the pan. Cook until bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake and begin to pop. Flip over and cook for a few minutes until golden. Place on a plate and stick the plate in the oven while you continue cooking pancakes.

One thought on “Pancakes, finally

  1. What a transition for you- when your youngest starts school, the silence in the house will seem quite strange! Pancakes will be a great way to send your kids off to school with!

Leave a Reply

