Homemade Baked Beans

20140526-121056-43856762.jpg
I’ve been a lover of baked beans from a can (Heinz of course) since I was a child. I love having baked beans on toast for breakfast or a lazy lunch, sometimes with eggs and bacon.

I’ve fed my children baked beans too, and for this reason, I was excited to find a homemade recipe, a dish you could make from scratch without any additives or sugar (although I think Heinz keep their recipe quite simple).

Homemade baked beans could be reserved for an easy Sunday morning breakfast, or if you choose, for Sunday dinner before another crazy week begins. I chose dinner and it was perfect with crusty bread and an egg nestled and baked within the beans. My kiddos enjoyed it as did hubby so I’ll definitely be making it again. Next time I might try chorizo rather than bacon and add some spinach or kale. I think a hit of chilli would also be amazing.

If you or your children prefer a smooth tomato sauce rather than a chunky one, I recommend blending it before adding the beans.

Homemade Baked Beans

Recipe inspired by Childhood 101

1 teaspoon butter or olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
3 rashes bacon or 1 chorizo sausage, finely diced
1 teaspoon paprika
2 teaspoons tomato paste
1 teaspoon raw sugar (can omit this)
1 400gm can diced tomatoes
1 400gm can borlotti or cannellini beans
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons parsley, finely chopped (optional)
Spinach or kale
Eggs – 1 per person (optional)

Melt the butter or olive oil in a wide, shallow casserole dish or saucepan over medium heat and then add the onion, garlic, bacon/chorizo and paprika. Cook until bacon becomes crisp and onions are translucent.

Add the tomato puree and cook for one minute. Add the sugar and tomatoes and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the beans and parsley and spinach if using, and warm through.

If adding eggs, make up to four wells in the beans/tomatoes and crack an egg into each well. Pop the lid on the pan and, keeping the temperature at medium, cook until eggs are done to your liking.

Serve with crusty bread and a sprinkling of parmesan if you desire.

Leave a comment