‘Healthier’ Chocolates

IMG_4030

The first thing I ever made ‘sugar free’, after learning more about why sugar is so bad for us, was these chocolates. I admit, I had to keep an open mind and tell myself, upon that first bite, that this wasn’t your usual chocolate bar, or chocolate from a box. Surprisingly, I enjoyed the flavour, and what I loved was that I could taste every single ingredient (except the chia seeds of course, which are flavourless) – the smokiness of the cacao, the coconut, the buttery coconut oil, the salt even. It reminded me of a coconut rough.

Unfortunately my kids, my husband and even my mum are not fans of my ‘healthy’ chocolates. The kids will sometimes have a nibble, but generally I’ve reserved these as my special treat. Every night I enjoy one – usually when I’m exhausted after a busy day and all I want to do is reach for chocolate, biscuits or ice cream. Makes for a much healthier alternative.

IMG_4028

I sourced this recipe from a few different sites on the web, and now, I just throw together whatever I have in the cupboard. It’s easy to mix up the nuts, the seeds, add berries even.  I’ve even experimented using this recipe as a base for bliss balls by adding dates and rolling them into coconut-covered balls. (I can’t say my kids enjoyed these either – they are a hard crowd to impress!)

I sweeten these naturally with either rice malt syrup or stevia powder, but you could use honey also.

My ‘Healthier’ Chocolates

½ cup natural peanut butter (or any nut butter you prefer)
½ cup mixed unsalted nuts
¼ cup cacao powder or unsweetened cocoa (cacao is SO much better for you)
½ cup organic shredded or desiccated coconut
¼ cup rolled oats
¼ cup chia seeds
5 tablespoons coconut oil or butter, at room temperature (if using butter you may need to melt)
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon rice malt syrup or stevia to taste
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch of salt

Add the oats and nuts to a food processer and blitz until finely chopped. Add to a mixing bowl with all other ingredients and combine until well incorporated. Spoon into a silicone mini muffin tray or mini muffin/patty cases. Refrigerate until hard and store in the fridge for up to two weeks. Be aware that these will melt after just a few minutes out of the fridge.

Makes about 14 chocolates

2 thoughts on “‘Healthier’ Chocolates

Leave a Reply

