Fish Tacos

IMG_2988

You won’t find a lot of fish recipes on my blog. Not that I don’t like fish, just that we don’t cook it a lot. For me I’m not sure why. I ate fish every Friday growing up, so maybe I’m over it. For my husband, well, he has a bit of a bone phobia.

I love seafood in general, prawns, mussels, squid or calamari if it’s cooked right; lobster and crayfish if I can afford it. Again, I don’t cook seafood a lot, probably because of the price.

My kids are coming around to it. Mr 5 is more willing to experiment. He enjoys fish and chips when we are out, and on a recent holiday he devoured fresh prawns and salt and pepper squid. Even Miss 2.5 scoffed about three prawns and took a nibble of the squid!

So in an effort to try and eat more fish (and get the kids to eat more as well) I decided to make fish tacos. We all love Mexican food and usually cook it around once a fortnight. I thought fish tacos would be a nice change and be generally accepted by all members of the household – and it was!

Fish Tacos

4 flathead fillets (or any other white fish you like)
2 teaspoons of ground cumin
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
6-8 wheat or corn tortillas
Sour cream, to serve
2 ripe avocadoes, sliced

Coleslaw

¼ red cabbage, shredded
¼ Chinese cabbage, shredded
2 medium carrots, grated
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon vinegar of your choice
1 tablespoon olive oil

Make the coleslaw first so it has time to rest. Mix all ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

Arrange the fish fillets in a shallow dish. Drizzle over enough olive oil to coat well, then shake in some salt and pepper and the cumin. Massage the fillets to distribute the marinade. Set aside.

Assemble all your condiments and be ready to start warming your tortillas on a grill.

Grill the fish fillets in a fry pan on the stove top (or cook in an Air fryer if you have one!) then set aside and cover to keep warm. Heat the tortillas and then assemble your tacos with fish, coleslaw, avocado and sour cream.

Leave a Reply

