Coco-Nutty Granola

IMG_3078

I’ve been really interested lately in cutting refined sugar from our diet, thanks to the reading I’ve been doing, especially Sarah Wilson’s blog. Through this reading I’ve been introduced to some amazing ingredients like coconut oil, chia seeds and rice malt syrup. There are so many blogs and so many people passionate about eating nourishing, whole foods that I couldn’t help trying out some recipes. This one, for a breakfast cereal, looked really yummy.

I’ve always steered clear of toasted muesli, due to the fat content, but this one uses coconut oil, which contains short term medium-chain saturated fatty acids, which is a “healthy” form of fat. I won’t harp on about it, you can Google it, but, I will tell you – I love it. Apart from the fact it tastes nice (if you get a good brand) it appeals to me due to its ability to supposedly curb sugar cravings and increase metabolism.

I’ve also been a little wary of eating a lot of nuts, again due to the amount of fat, but my mind has been changed due to what I’ve read about sugar, or fructose, being the culprit in weight gain and not fats (certain types anyway).

IMG_3076

I’ve been making this granola for the past few months, and I eat it usually with a splash of milk, some yoghurt and occasionally some berries. My two and half year old also enjoys a little of it mixed through yoghurt. It is easy to make a batch and it lasts for a week, and I no longer buy breakfast cereal (apart from weetbix for Mr 5!)

Sarah doesn’t add oats or rice malt syrup, but I have, as I love oats and a bit of sweetness. If you are keen to cut back on sugar or fructose, specifically, don’t be tempted to add dried fruit!

Coco-nutty Granola

Thanks to Sarah Wilson

Makes 5 cups

2 cups of coconut flakes or organic shredded coconut (trust me on the organic shredded – it’s amazing)
1 cup rolled oats
2 cups of chopped, mixed nuts (almonds, cashews, pecans, walnuts, etc)
2 tablespoons chia seeds
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2-3 tablespoons rice malt syrup (optional – if you’re a sweet tooth, go with 3 tablespoons)
4 tablespoons of coconut oil, melted
Optional extras could include pepitas or flaxseeds

Pre-heat oven to 120 degrees celcius. Prepare a baking tray with a sheet of baking paper.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and then spread evenly on your baking tray. Bake for 15-20 minutes, mixing around at the 10 minute mark to ensure the mix is evenly golden.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool and get crispy. Store in an airtight container.

Lovely eaten as a snack too!

Leave a Reply

