Danish Crisp Bread

IMG_2694

This a record breaking post! I baked these crisp breads today and tonight, I’m blogging them! Is this because they are so good? Well, yes, and because a fan asked me to, and how could I say no to the lovely Cat?

I was picking up my two year old from my parents’ house last Monday when they gave me a homemade crisp bread to try. It was scrumptious, morish and had me hooked. They had been made by my dad’s client and she’d even provided him with the recipe. I took a copy of course and the next morning at the supermarket I was loading the ingredients into my trolley. The good thing was though, I didn’t really need to buy a lot of the ingredients – maybe half. The rest I had waiting at home.

IMG_2685

I never expected to make homemade crackers. I have a few recipes on Pinterest to try but usually muffins and decadent desserts take my fancy first. The trick with these is to let them bake until almost burnt – the browner they are the crispier they are. Also, make sure they are rolled out nice and thin otherwise they’ll be a little too chewy. These have all the lovely, healthy seeds like pumpkin, linseed/flax and sunflower and the mix I got even had millet, chia and almonds!

IMG_2695

How did they score with the kids and hubby you ask? Well, Miss 2 enjoyed them but Master 4.5 and hubby didn’t care for them much. Perhaps with dip and cheese they would taste better, remarked the hubby. A shame as the recipe made HEAPS! No problem, I’m sure I’ll get through them on my own!

Danish Crisp Breads

Recipe adapted from Jane Smith

1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup linseeds (flaxseeds)
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup spelt flour
1/2 cup wholemeal or plain flour
1/2 cup bread flour
1/2 cup olive oil
1 and 1/4 cups water

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celcius. Have two baking trays handy.

Mix together the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add in the oil and 1 cup of water and mix well. If not sloppy and sticky, add the extra 1/4 of water. Leave to rest for 10 minutes.

Empty half of the dough onto a large piece of baking paper, big enough to fit on one of your baking trays. Cover with another piece of baking paper and using a rolling pin or your hands, press the mixture out so its thin.

Cut or score into small squares or triangles using a pizza cutter if you have one.

Slide onto your baking tray and bake for 25 minutes.

Allow to cool before breaking up into your shapes. Store in an airtight container.

Great with cheese, dips, anything you desire!

5 thoughts on “Danish Crisp Bread

  1. Thank you so much for blogging this recipe Rachel they look delicious! I can’t wait to have a try. I made some crispy sesame lavash crackers last Christmas but they were not to my small boys tastes so I haven’t made them since. These look like they’d appeal greatly.

Leave a Reply

