Vanilla Cupcakes

IMG_2269

I truly think I’ve found the best cupcake recipe ever. One that produces the most moist, delicious cupcakes I’ve ever eaten. I’m sure many would disagree with me, and really, I haven’t tested many recipes, but I’ve eaten a lot of dry, boring cupcakes.

I’ve blogged a cupcake recipe previously but I’m tempted to remove it, because this one is far superior. And now that I look at it, its really pretty easy to remember – the same quantities of butter, sugar and flour (125g), plus two eggs, two tablespoons of milk and two teaspoons of vanilla!

This recipe can be found in the very first Australian edition of Baked and Delicious, a magazine that was introduced last year. I purchased the first editions, excited by the freebies that were included. There are many, many classic recipes in these magazines and I wish I’d been able to collect them all, but space and dollars are always an issue.

These vanilla cupcakes, that I made for my daughter’s second birthday, came out so delicate and lovely, with a generous crumb and hint of vanilla. I made a double batch and filled 24 cupcake cases, although I found they didn’t rise to the brim of the cases, so next time I’ll make adjustments.

For the first time ever I coloured and rolled out some pre-bought fondant, covering the cupcakes with a white disk of icing and a pink bunny rabbit. I was super impressed and pretty proud of myself, finally utilising some skills I’d learned in a cupcake course I attended last year.

I found these cupcakes were even good the following day! I can’t wait to make them again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apologies for my lack of photos. I was too busy photographing the birthday girl!

Vanilla Cupcakes

Baked and Delicious, Issue 1

125g unsalted butter, softened
125g caster sugar
2 large eggs, beaten
125g self raising flour, sifted
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract, or 2 teaspoons vanilla essence

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees celcius. Stand 12 cupcake cases into a muffin tin or on a baking tray. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy – this will take a few minutes, if not five.

Mix in the eggs, in half quantities, adding a spoonful of the measured flour after the first half of egg, to prevent the mixture curdling.

Use a large spoon to gently fold in the remaining flour and then fold in the milk and vanilla.

Using an ice cream scoop, divide the mixture between the 12 cupcake cases. Pop in the preheated oven for around 15 minutes, or until well risen and golden. Cool on a wire rack. Ice to your liking when completely cool, either with buttercream or fondant.

Makes 12

4 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

