Spicy Sausage Meatball Subs

IMG_2227

Yum, yum. Double yum. These meatball subs are delicious – and deliciously easy. For some strange reason I’ve always been fascinated by the meatball subs you can get at Subway, not that I’ve ever eaten one (well, maybe I have but I honestly can’t remember it).

When I saw this recipe over at one of my favourite blogs I was inspired to give it a go.  I love the idea of using the meat from inside a sausage. I’ve done it before with a sausage pasta bake and with Jamie Oliver’s recipe for pregnant Jools’ pasta (divine might I add!). I’ve also seen sausage meat on a pizza (big in the US!).

Here is my version of the meatball sub, that both hubby and kids enjoyed as much as me. I’m sure I’ll be making these again!

IMG_2228

Spicy Sausage Meatball Subs

Inspired by The Market Basket

500g mince (I used a combination of pork and beef but you could use anything you like)
3 sausages (Chantelle uses chorizo but I used spicy Italian beef/pork)
Salt and pepper
Half a large brown or red onion, diced
1 garlic clove, crushed
400g can plus one half can of crushed tomatoes or equivalent passata (700ml)
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Hot dog buns (I used scotch baps), cut in half
Mozzarella cheese
Dressed lettuce

In a large bowl squeeze the sausage meat out of its casings. Add the mince, some salt and pepper and, using your hands, combine. Roll into balls the size of golf balls. Heat some olive oil in a large, deep frypan over medium-high heat and then brown the meatballs. Remove from pan.

Add a little more oil to the frypan and put the heat down to medium-low. Cook the onion and garlic until soft and translucent. Add the crushed tomatoes/passata, sugar and a little water if you think the sauce is too thick. Bring to the boil and then put the heat down to low. Put the meatballs back into the pan, nestling them in the sauce and cook for at least 30 minutes.

Just before serving, pop your buns in the oven to crisp up and warm through.

To assemble your subs, pop a few meatballs inside your buns, cover with mozzarella cheese and some lettuce and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Sausage Meatball Subs

Leave a Reply

