Nutella Cranberry Hazelnut Fudge (Sweets for Santa)

IMG_2556

I’ve never made fudge before, and admittedly I’ve never been a huge fan. I’ve always found it a little too sweet and sickly. Except for maybe Baileys Irish Cream fudge or capuccino fudge! But even then, I’ve only ever managed a few bites.

When I saw this recipe over at Annie’s Eats for Nutella Cherry Hazelnut Fudge I thought I would give it a try, as I love the flavour combination and thought it would make a great gift for little man’s childcare teachers. That, and I was running out of time to bake and decorate gingerbread men!

I love easy recipes and this one certainly is. I had difficulty finding dried cherries so substituted blueberry-flavoured dried cranberries. Next time I would add more nutella, because to be honest I really couldn’t taste it! Shame!

I’m off now to email the recipe to my son’s childcare centre staff – they loved the fudge so much they begged for it!

Nutella Cranberry Hazelnut Fudge

1/2 cup hazelnuts
400g can sweetened condensed milk
1 tablespoon coffee-flavoured liqueur (such as Tia Maria)
200g dark chocolate, finely chopped
1 and 1/4 cups Nutella
3 tablespoons salted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup dried cherries or cranberries (if using cherries, chop them coarsely)

Preheat your oven to 100 degrees celcius. Place the hazelnuts on a baking tray and bake for 20 minutes or until toasted. You should notice the skins cracking. Transfer the hazelnuts to a clean tea towel.  Fold half of the towel over the top of the hazelnuts and roll them around gently to help remove the loosened skins.  Transfer the naked hazelnuts to a chopping board and roughly chop.

Line a slice tin (mine was 20cm by 30cm) with alfoil and spray lightly with olive oil spray. In a medium saucepan, combine the condensed milk, liqueur, chocolate, Nutella and butter. Heat on very low, stirring often to make sure the chocolate doesn’t catch, until the mixture is fully melted and smooth.

Remove pan from the heat.  Add the toasted hazelnuts and dried cranberries to the chocolate mix and fold in until evenly combined.  Pour the mixture into the prepared slice tin and spread out to an even layer.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm – overnight wouldn’t hurt 🙂

When ready to cut, use the foil to lift the fudge from the tin and place on to a chopping board. Peel the alfoil from the edges and, using a large chef’s knife, slice the fudge into 2cm by 2cm squares, or any size you like!  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

This post is part of the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop: Sweets for Santa, hosted by Christina at The Hungry Australian.

8 thoughts on “Nutella Cranberry Hazelnut Fudge (Sweets for Santa)

  1. YUM! I love fudge – have only made it once before myself, might try a festive version shortly. Your fudge looks deliciously rich!

Leave a Reply

