Peanut Butter Banana Oat Bars

IMG_1312

I’ve been meaning to blog about this recipe for a while but life has been taking over blogging lately. When I get some free time (which is usually at night once the kids are in bed, and when I don’t have to meal plan/grocery shop, or iron, or wash clothes) I just want to sit in front of the TV and disengage my brain (or go to a hot yoga class which I love!).

I made this recipe back in winter, when I was enjoying making recipes with oats. I came across it on Pinterest and liked the fact it was described as ‘healthy’.

You see so many peanut butter recipes these days. I think peanut butter has lost its ‘unhealthy and fattening’ tag in recent years and, in moderation, its a good source of protein, vitamins and minerals, even though it has a high (unsaturated) fat content.

My tip with these bars is to make sure you use quick cooking oats if you are making them for children. My kids have a thing about having to chew foods too much – it is too much work for their little jaws and they give up.

This recipe comes from a blog called Gingerbread Bagels which doesn’t seem to be in existence anymore, so I searched the ‘net and found it on another blog called fitnessandfeta.com. My version has choc chips! And I prefer to use the word ‘oats’ rather than ‘oatmeal’ because its not a term we use here in Australia.

Peanut Butter Banana Oat Bars

1 and a half cups quick cooking oats
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or 2 teaspoons vanilla essence
1/2 cup low-fat milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 large banana, mashed
1/4 cup low fat peanut butter
Chocolate chips to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Lightly grease a slice tin or brownie pan.

In a large bowl mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon.

Add the vanilla, milk and egg and mix all ingredients together.

Then add the mashed banana and peanut butter.  Combine until mixed well.

Pour the mixture into your greased tin and sprinkle the top with some choc chips. Bake for 20 minutes.

Allow to cool before cutting into bars or squares.

Leave a Reply

