Banana Cake

Here is something my little boy likes! Ah, success! And it isn’t coated in chocolate.

I set out to make banana bread but after defrosting three bananas instead of two, which the recipe called for, what came out of my oven was definitely banana cake. I didn’t mind, and neither did little man and baby girl, or my BFF who now works on the other side of my building (hip-pocket and waist line most certainly affected with spontaneous coffee breaks and long lunches!).

There is something about banana cake that says ‘I’m made with love, best served warm with butter and a cup of tea’. It reminds me of my mum and her baking, although I’ve not seen her make a banana cake for a very long time. Hint, hint!

Here is a recipe I found via The Cake Mistress. Along with the extra banana I’ve also changed the quantity of sugar as I always like to decrease the amount. This cake was moist and yummy and easily lasted for three days.

3 bananas, mashed
120g unsalted butter
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon bicarb soda
3/4 cups caster sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups self raising flour

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Grease a loaf tin with non-stick spray – a large tin will give you a low cake – a medium tin will give you a higher cake. I used a large tin because my medium one was ready to be thrown out!

Place butter and mashed bananas into a saucepan on low heat until melted. Stir in the caster sugar, bicarb soda and milk until the sugar appears to have dissolved. Let mixture cool to room temperature before stirring in the beaten eggs and flour – you don’t want to cook the eggs!

Pour mixture into your loaf tin and bake for 40-45 minutes. Cake is done when a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Serve with butter if you’re not worried about your waist line 🙂

One thought on “Banana Cake

Leave a Reply

