Spaghetti Omelette

This cheesy, fluffy omelette, entwined with spaghetti, takes me back to the very first share house I ever lived in. I was 21, had finished a graduate diploma at uni and had moved two and half hours away from home to start my first full time job.
I didn’t have an extensive repetoire of meals at the time. I especially had no idea how to cook meat, unless it was in a casserole. My two housemates and I didn’t cook and share. We prepared food for ourselves and had our own shelves in the fridge. Sound familiar? 🙂
I remember cooking myself a lot of pasta, a lot of salads and eggs – eggs in many different ways.
I came up with the idea of adding spaghetti to my omelette just because it was hanging around in the fridge from the previous night. I doubt I have done this more than once or twice since then (because I never have leftover pasta1), but there was some spaghetti leftover a few weeks back and I thought the kids would think it fun to have spaghetti in their eggs. They didn’t. I ate the omelette and they left it behind. Oh well, more for me!
There is something so very comforting and homey about this omelette.
3 eggs
1/2 tomato, diced
1/4 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup grated cheese (cheddar or parmesan)
1 cup cooked spaghetti
Salt and pepper
1/2 tablespoon butter
Break the eggs into a bowl and whisk until combined. Add a dash of water, the tomato, peas, cheese, spaghetti, salt and pepper and mix well.
Heat a small frying on the stove and add the butter. When melted, pour in the egg mixture, poking it a bit with a fork or knife to make sure the strands of spaghetti are lying flat.
Cook until set and browned on the bottom, then wack it under a hot grill to set and brown the top. I guess in this way it really is a frittata!
Eat with some buttered toast or salad leaves if making it for brunch/lunch.
3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Omelette

Leave a Reply

