Green Monster Smoothie

Okay, I’m jumping on the bandwagon. So many (American) blogs I’ve been reading in the past few months have featured this thing called the ‘green monster smoothie’. I only sat up and took note when a blogger mentioned her toddler loved drinking it! Hmm . . I thought, would mine? So with hubby’s eyes boggling I wizzed up the ingredients and served it up to little man and myself. Well, we LOVED it! Personally I think its the pineapple that gives it its zing. But its the spinach that gives you an overall feeling of ‘health’. I feel like letting out an evil chuckle everytime I see little man drinking this . . ha ha you are getting your greens and you dont even know it!
I’ve read up on many different recipes for this green monster smoothie. Some include milk or yoghurt, but I prefer the dairy free ones and with some things, the less ingredients the better. I’m all for keeping things simple. Feel free though to add any extra fruit if you’d like, like mango or peach, or to boost the nutrition you could add flaxseeds or wheatgerm.
Recipe adapted from Pennies on a Platter  
1 banana
1/2-1 cup diced pineapple
1 cup baby spinach
1 cup orange juice
handful of ice
Blend everything in a blender and serve.
Makes 2-3 serves
P.S. Hubby and baby girl loved this too!
Leave a Reply

