Scones

Scones have always been a part of my life. My nana is the queen of scones. She would make them in the blink of an eye, wrap them warm in a clean tea towel and they’d be devoured in two seconds flat. Cheesy scones are her signature, dusted with paprika.

When my hubby first tasted her scones he was delighted, because he could lather on some butter and vegemite. For me though I always, and still do, prefer them plain with jam and cream.

My mum is also a good whipper-upperer of scones. How could I not then, become a scone maker myself?

I’ve found my favourite recipe in a very sweet little book by Louise Fulton Keats, granddaughter of the famous Margaret, called My Grandma’s Kitchen. I find it fitting that Margaret was born in Scotland, just like my nan. My Grandma’s Kitchen is a story book along with a recipe book that belongs to my little man. It has the most comforting recipes inside.

As you can probably guess, these scones have been making a regular appearance in our house. We enjoyed them for breakfast this morning and little man proclaimed ‘you’re the best cook in the world mama!

Scones

3 cups self-raising flour
1 teaspoon salt
60g cold butter, cubed
1 and 1/4 cups buttermilk or plain milk

Preheat the oven to 230 degrees Celsius. Grease or flour an oven tray or put down a sheet of baking paper.

Sift the flour and salt together in a mixing bowl. With cold hands (run them under cold water for a minute) rub the butter into the flour until the flour resembles coarse breadcrumbs.

Make a well in the centre and add the milk. With a knife, mix until the dough comes together. Empty out on to a floured work surface and knead and pat gently into a round about 2cm thick. Flour a scone cutter and cut out rounds, making sure to press down and pull up in one movement – do not twist.

Place scones close together on the tray and brush tops with milk. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden.

Leave a Reply

