Pork Belly

The first time I ate pork belly I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. It was at a wonderful modern Japanese restaurant here in Adelaide called Kenji. I wish I could find a description of how it is seasoned and cooked as I can’t remember the taste but I will always remember the texture and that melt in the mouth quality. It was divine. I will often now choose pork belly if I see it on a menu, anywhere. Often I am disappointed. Sometimes not 🙂
Pork belly is one of those cuts of meat that can be a little daunting to prepare. It certainly has been for me. I tried pork belly maybe five years ago and here I am only now cooking it myself.  Many people aren’t keen on pork either. I admit, its not my favourite meat. I will really only eat it if it is slow cooked until falling apart.  This is why pork belly is so good.
Hubby and I decided to try our hand at cooking pork belly for our Christmas Eve dinner last week. We got a tiny-ish piece from our local supermarket (given it was really only the two of us plus two tiny tummies dining) and took a risk. We seasoned it with rosemary, garlic and bay leaves thanks to Jamie Oliver’s tips in his Good Food book, making sure we scored it and rubbed lots of salt in. We cooked it for about 2 hours before blasting the crackling under the grill for about 20 minutes. It turned out AMAZING!  The kids loved it too, but then they love roast meats!
I really do urge you to give it a try if you are like me and have had pork belly in a restaurant but are a little scared to cook it yourself at home. It really is one of those luxury meals that will leave you feeling utterly spoilt!
Leave a Reply

