White Chocolate and Sultana Muesli Bars

As I mentioned a few posts back, my now 3 year old has been looking for more variety in his snacks. He is getting bored with his typical fruit bars and crackers so I when I saw a recipe over at Weelicious for chocolate chip granola bars I thought I’d try them out for him.

I used white chocolate as little man has a histamine response to milk chocolate and also added some dried fruit in the form of sultanas and apricots. While very yummy (and moreish!) they were a tad too crunchy for said 3 year old so needless to say mummy ending up polishing off most of them. Next time I will soak my fruit first as it became way too chewy when cooked, and I will undercook the bars slightly to give a more chewy texture rather than crunchy.

4 cups traditional oats
1/4 cup wholemeal flour
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup dried fruit, soaked in water until they become soft (I used sultanas and diced apricot)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
1/2 cup honey

Preheat oven to 160 degrees celcius. Line a lamington pan or slice tin with baking paper.

Combine the first six ingredients in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl or jug, whisk together the remaining ingredients.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir to combine.
Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and baked for around 25-30 minutes until firm. Be careful not to burn or darken too much or the bars will be too crunchy.

Allow to cool until it is easy enough to cut into bars. Store in an air-tight container.

Leave a Reply

