Mississippi Mud Cake with Chocolate Ganache

I finally made the cake I’ve been dreaming about for over a year! I first tasted this cake at my brother’s home one Sunday. It had been ‘leftover’ from the night before when he and his wife had had cousins over for dinner. The cake had been baked by our cousin and it was the first mud cake I’d eaten that didn’t make me want to stop after the first few bites (because it wasn’t overly rich). I knew I had to get the recipe but it took me a long time to actually ask for it!

Turns out its a Women’s Weekly recipe. The best thing about it is the bourbon. The liquor gives the cake such a warm fragrant character that sets it apart from other mud cakes. Admittedly I did have some trouble with the outer part of the cake drying out a bit, so next time I will try baking it in a shallower, larger tin, though I’m not sure if this will help. I may need to do some experimenting. Perhaps a lower heat for longer baking time? In the meantime, it is worth baking just for the fudgey centre.

For the cake:

250g butter
200g dark eating chocolate, chopped coarsely
2 cups (440g) caster sugar
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or two teaspoons vanilla essence)
1/3 cup bourbon
1 and a half cups plain flour, sifted
1/4 cup self raising flour, sifted
1/4 cup cocoa powder, sifted
2 eggs

For the ganache:

1/3 cup cream
200g dark eating chocolate

Preheat oven to 170 degrees or 150 degrees fan forced. Grease a deep 22cm round cake tin. Line the tin’s base.

Combine butter, chocolate, sugar, milk, vanilla and bourbon in a medium saucepan. Stir over low heat until smooth. Transfer to a large bowl and cool for around 15 minutes. Whisk in the flours and cocoa, and then the eggs.

Pour into pan and bake for approximately 1 hour, 30 minutes.

When completely cool, make the ganache by melting the chocolate with the cream. Pour over cake and refridgerate.

Store cake in the fridge. Before serving let it come to room temperature. Yummy served with double thick cream and strawberries!

Leave a Reply

