Homemade Cereal (Granola)


I am now officially on maternity leave and bubs is due in two weeks! I have been really inspired to do lots of cooking while I’ve been home, but the problem is, I barely have the energy for it!

This recipe I spotted on Brown Eyed Baker and have always been a little fascinated by ‘American’ granola. You don’t see it much here on Australian shelves – but I guess it is similar to toasted muesli. I liked this recipe because it didn’t contain any oil . . but to be honest, if I were to make it again, I would definitely add some oil as I felt it was left a bit dry without it (hence the reason I’ve included 1/8 cup of oil in my recipe below).

It was sooo delicious when I first baked it, even little man loved chomping on it, especially the dried apricots . . but I did get a little bored with it after eating it for breakfast two days straight. I think I prefer bircher muesli but at least this satisfied a (pregnancy?) craving!

I’d be interested to know what you think!

NB: I recommend pouring the leftover applesauce onto ice-cream and adding a shake of cinnamon – dee-licious!

Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

5 cups traditional rolled oats (not quick oats)
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
¾ teaspoon salt
¾ cup raw sugar
¾ cup applesauce
¼ cup honey
1/8 cup vegetable oil
1½ cups chopped walnuts
¾ cup chopped dried apricots

Preheat oven to 170 degrees celcius. Line a large baking tray with baking paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, cinnamon, ginger and salt.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, applesauce, honey and oil until thoroughly combined.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well, until all of the oats are moistened. Spread on the prepared pan in an even layer.

Bake for 30 minutes, checking after about 20 minutes – you don’t want the oats to burn. Remove the tray from the oven and turn the oats over very carefully using a wide spatula (you’ll probably need to do this in sections). Return to the oven and bake for an additional 10 to 15 minutes, or until crisp and golden.

Cool completely on the baking tray.

Break up the granola into chunks and stir in the walnuts and apricots. Trust me, you are going to want to eat it straight away, plain, with nothing on it, it is that delicious!

Store in an airtight container. Serve with milk and/or yoghurt.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cereal (Granola)

  1. Hi.I am going to give this recipe a go. The one I do for toasted muesli use has a lot more oil. Does the apple sauce make up for the lack of oil? Has your baby arrived yet? I hope all went well.

Leave a Reply

