Chocolate Coconut Slice

I was ruffling through one of my ‘home-made’ recipe books (aka clear sleeve folders) and stumbled across this recipe for chocolate slice. It was torn out of an old Super Food Ideas magazine (I used to collect them religiously many years back) and it reminded me of my childhood. My mum, nana and aunties were great slice makers. My favourite was mars bar slice, then chocolate slice. Jelly slice used to also grace our party tables but was never much of a favourite of mine.

Last Friday I felt like baking so when this recipe caught my eye I decided to give it a go (along with a yummy spinach and cheese pie that we ate for dinner), mostly because I had all the ingredients in the house (I’ve been doing that a bit lately – making things from ingredients I already have rather than spending money!).

The result was very yummy, albeit a little thick. As you might remember from one of my very first blog posts, I had the same problem with my jam coconut slice. I have deduced that its my slice pan – not wide enough. Oh well . . I wasn’t going to lose sleep over it, or stop eating it!

Here ’tis . . .

Recipe adapted from Super Food ideas

1 and half cups plain flour, sifted
3/4 cup white sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
250g butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 and 3/4 cups dessicated coconut
Chocolate icing
1 cup pure icing sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
2 tablespoons hot water

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Grease and line a 4.5cm deep, 21cm x 32cm (base) lamington pan with baking paper.

Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, butter, vanilla and 1 and half cups of coconut in a large bowl. Mix well. Press evenly over base of prepared pan. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool completely in pan.

Make icing. Sift icing sugar and cocoa into a bowl. Add hot water and stir until smooth, adding more water if necessary. Spread evenly over cooled slice. Sprinkle with remaining coconut. Stand at room temperature until set – refrigeration not necessary. Cut into squares and store in an airtight container.

Note: you can add 30g melted butter to your icing if you wish . . I didn’t as I didn’t want it too rich.

Leave a Reply

