Blueberry Muffins


I haven’t been so excited about something I’ve baked for a long time! Today I am super, super impressed with these muffins and it took a lot of restraint not to eat more than two when they first came out of the oven!

My previous experience with muffins wasn’t great. Many years back I made banana muffins and they were like rocks, so I’ve been reluctant to try again. Over the New Year weekend we were treated to a scrumptious brunch at my aunty’s and she made the most to-die-for apple and raspberry muffins. I was determined to grab the recipe and was surprised to find out she had received it from my mum twenty years before! Mum said she got the recipe from her old neighbour! I couldn’t believe it! I rang mum for the recipe a few days later and here it is . . I adapted it to blueberry as this variation is a fave of mine (even if it isn’t one of hubby’s!)

These muffins are best eaten on the day of baking . . they do lose a bit of their freshness a day after but they can always be zapped in the microwave.


‘Helen’s’ Blueberry Muffins

2/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vinegar
2 cups self-raising flour
3/4 cup sugar (I used raw) plus extra for sprinkling
1 teaspoon cinnamon
125 butter, melted
1 egg
150g frozen or fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 160 degrees celcius. Grease a 12 cup muffin pan or pop in some patty cases.

Pour the milk into a jug and add the vinegar and set aside – essentially here you are making buttermilk!

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

To your jug of buttermilk add the melted butter and the egg. Whisk to combine. Make a well in the centre of your dry ingredients and then add the wet. Fold gently until just combined. Fold in the blueberries. Drop spoonfuls of mixture into the muffin cups until all twelve are full. Sprinkle with a little extra raw sugar. Bake for 25 minutes.

NB: If using frozen blueberries do NOT defrost before using.

Leave a Reply

