Toffee Pretzel Bark


I had been thinking for the past few weeks that I’d like to make a foodie Christmas gift for friends and family. My mum always makes her traditional shortbread, Italian almond bread and her rum balls and apricot balls. I see many recipes for white christmas, truffles and fruit mince pies, but I wanted to come up with something different.

Last year I made gingerbread men and was a little disappointed that my skill in icing was poor, and what I’d hoped would be crispy-on-the-outside, chewy-in-the-middle was just plain soft – like something you could eat with false teeth.

One of my favourite baking blogs was talking about making chocolate barks, and I thought, what a great idea – something easy, delicious and, speaking specifically of these toffee pretzel kind, a little bit trendy too, combining the salty pretzels and sweet toffee and chocolate.

So with my nephew spending the day with little man and I, and little man in the midst of a three hour marathon nap, nephew and I had great delight in putting this bark together . . . we couldn’t keep our hands off!! I am very much looking forward to giving some of this away as treats!

The recipe this is adapted from is American so I have used Werther’s Original candies as a substitute:
Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

400g good quality dark cooking chocolate, in pieces
3/4 cup pretzels, broken into small pieces
3/4 cup Werther’s Original hard caramels/candies, smashed into pieces (I used three rolls and broke up with a meat mallet)
180g good quality white cooking chocolate, in pieces

Line a baking tray with baking paper and set aside.

Combine the pretzels and caramels and divide the mix into one bowl of 2/3 and one bowl of 1/3.

Melt your dark chocolate either using a double boiler or in the microwave (I used my microwave – 50% power or medium, for 30 second bursts, stirring between zaps). When smooth, add the 2/3 bowl of pretzels and caramels and mix well. Pour over your baking paper and quickly spread with a spatula so the chocolate is thin. Refrigerate for 45 minutes.

Once the dark chocolate has set, melt the white chocolate in the same manner (you’ll probably find it melts a lot quicker!). When smooth, pour the white chocolate over the dark and then sprinkle the remaining 1/3 of pretzel/caramel mix. Refridgerate for 45 minutes.

When set well, cut into shards with a sharp knife and refridgerate pieces.

Leave a Reply

