Minestrone Soup

Many, many apologies for my slackness with posting. Hubby and I have a big project cooking so my time has been very stretched of late. I promise to reveal all very soon!

So here is a dish I cooked up for dinner a few nights ago for little man and myself. I exclude hubby because he ‘doesn’t do soup’ apart from potato and leek (which he himself has made) and occasionally pumpkin (only if its got bacon in it!). Unfortunately little man wasn’t having any of it either . . I wish I’d pureed it up for him, as he quite likes to slurp soup from a spoon and sometimes will play ‘dip, dip’ with his bread.

Winter has come to end here and we are slowly getting some sunnier days, so I thought I’d best make a soup before the weather gets too warm!

1 brown onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 strips bacon, diced
1 large carrot, diced
2.5 litres of chicken stock
1 420g can diced tomatoes
2 potatoes, diced
1 medium zucchini, diced
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup corn kernels
1 420g tin of beans (anything you wish)
1/2 cup small pasta such as risoni
1/2 cup chopped parsley
parmesan cheese to serve

Saute your onion and garlic with the bacon and carrot until onion is translucent and bacon is browned. Add the stock, tomatoes, potatoes and zucchini and bring to the boil. Then turn down to a simmer, season with salt and pepper and cook for 30 minutes. Add the peas, corn, beans (I used four bean mix as I had this in the cupboard but I’d usually use cannellini beans) and pasta and cook until pasta is al dente. Serve with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

