Ham, Cheese and Chive ‘Damper’ Scones

Sorry that I haven’t blogged in a while . . I just haven’t made anything particularly yummy in the past week. But today I want to share a very scrumptious recipe that was given to me by my friend Kirsty. The original recipe is one for damper, but Kirsty brought these little ‘scones’ to my house one day as a treat for the kids, and let me tell you, I could have eaten the whole batch! I told her I had to have the recipe!
I have never made damper before, and have probably attempted scones once in my life. Pretty sad considering both my mum and my nana are superstars at making scones (thanks to their Scottish blood).

This recipe was easy . . I was so careful not to overwork the dough and yet, they still didn’t rise like I expected them too. They still tasted amazing, especially with a little butter! My brother popped by just as they were coming out of the oven and, as the official taste tester, said they were great – crunchy on the outside and pillowy soft on the inside.
I can’t wait to make these again! I might add some corn kernels next time.
Here is my version . . .
2 cups self-raising flour
30g cold, cubed butter
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons chopped chives
100g chopped ham
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water
Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celcius. Line two baking trays with baking paper.
In a medium sized bowl, sift your flour and then add salt and paprika and combine. Rub in your butter until mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs (or thereabouts – mine didn’t look like breadcrumbs!) Throw in your cheese, chives and ham and mix well. Add milk and enough water to make a soft, sticky dough (I used a knife as opposed to a spoon) – be careful not to overwork. As soon as the mixture comes together and away from the bowl, turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead quickly til smooth – pretend the dough is hot – you don’t want to touch it too much.
Gently pat down til 2cm thick. Flour your cutter well and cut out your circles – don’t twist the cutter or your scones will be lopsided.
Place on your baking trays, brush tops with milk and cook in the oven for around 20 minutes or until golden. (With running around after a toddler I left mine in a wee bit too long and they were browner than I would have liked)
Enjoy with butter!

2 thoughts on “Ham, Cheese and Chive ‘Damper’ Scones

Leave a Reply

