Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Icing


Today I made cupcakes to take to work tomorrow. You see, in our office we have a tradition whereby when its your birthday, you are obliged to bring in a cake for morning tea. Seeing as I go around the office talking about food and my cooking abilities every minute of the day, I thought I had better bake a cake, rather than purchasing one. I decided on cupcakes.

I haven’t made cupcakes very often – probably once before today. I probably have a thousand recipes in my array of cookbooks in my kitchen but I thought I’d scour the internet for a recipe instead. The one I found seemed very simple. So, how did they end up? From what you can see, I am a terrible cake decorator and am totally uncoordinated when it comes to handling a piping bag. I realised once the cupcakes were cooked that I had probably bought patty pans that were way too big, and that I obviously neglected to read the recipe for it noted that these cupcakes would turn out much like patty cakes rather than cupcakes. My poor work colleagues that will be receiving these tomorrow . . . I think they taste good at least!


This recipe is direct from that’s Noice with a little tweaking by me.

For the cupcakes:

125g softened butter, chopped (leave it out of the fridge for a good hour or so)
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
150g caster sugar (2/3 of a cup)
3 eggs (room temperature)
225g self raising flour (1½ cups)
60ml milk (¼ of a cup)

For the icing:

125g softened butter, chopped
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
240g icing sugar or icing mixture (1½ cups) sifted
2 tablespoons milk

Preheat your oven to 180ºC or 160ºC fan-forced. Line two 12-hole muffin tins with standard sized patty pans/cupcake cups. Be aware that you may not make 24 cupcakes.

Combine all the ingredients in small bowl of an electric mixer if you have one, or hand beat on low speed until the ingredients are just combined. Increase speed to medium and beat for 3 minutes or until mixture is smooth and changed to a paler colour.

Drop slightly rounded tablespoons of mixture into your patty pans if you want small patty cakes; or 2 tablespoons full if you want normal cupcakes. Bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes or until lightly golden. Turn cakes onto wire rack and turn top-side up to cool.

When completely cool, ice your cupcakes. To make your icing, beat the butter and vanilla essence in a small bowl with your electric beaters until white as possible. Gradually beat in half of the sifted icing sugar, then the milk, and lastly the remaining icing sugar. Tint with food colouring if you dare.

4 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Icing

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Cupcakes | sweet ravioli!

Leave a Reply

