‘Revani’ Greek Orange Cake

I have had so many requests for the recipe for this Greek Orange Cake that I’ve decided to post it here for you today. Just thinking about it, I’m so tempted to make it! Enjoy!

Revani – Greek Orange Cake

For the cake:

250g butter, melted
1/4 cup sugar
5 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups self-raising flour
1 cup dessicated coconut
1 cup semolina
zest of one medium orange

For the syrup:

4 cups cold water
3 cups sugar
zest of one medium orange
4 shakes of cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla essence

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius or 180 degrees fan-forced. Butter a rectangular baking dish or pan (a lasagne dish is perfect).

In a large bowl mix together the butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each egg. Add vanilla and orange juice.

In a separate bowl sift flour and baking powder. Add coconut, semolina and zest and mix. Add this dry mixture to the butter and egg mixture and slowly stir until just combined. Pour into prepared dish. Cook for around 30 minutes or until golden brown.

While the cake is cooking, prepare the syrup by adding all ingredients to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes or until sugar dissolves and syrup thickens slightly.

When cake is cooked remove from oven and let cool. Cut into diamond shapes by cutting diagonally into the cake. Pour syrup over cake and then refrigerate. Serve cold with an extra sprinkle of cinnamon and ice cream.

* * * * *

I have done a bad thing today, and that is to not provide you with a recipe for this delightful Greek orange cake, or ‘Revanee’ as we call it. You see, I had fully planned to share this recipe but because it comes from my husband’s family, he wasn’t quite ready to share it with the world. So all I can do is encourage you to do your own research on Google and find a recipe.

What I discovered is the correct spelling of the cake, which is revani. It originated not only in Greece but Turkey and some parts of the Middle East also claim it as a local sweet. It is a dense cake (made with not only flour but semolina too) made light by the addition of hot, sugary orange syrup.

Revani is best served cold with ice-cream or cream and for this reason, is enjoyable every season of the year. Traditionally my husband tells me it is served at Christmas (in his family anyway). I have eaten it warm but you will not truly appreciate the flavours unless it is cold, and by cold I mean straight out of the fridge!

6 thoughts on “‘Revani’ Greek Orange Cake

  1. I would really really love this recipe……my hairdresser is greek and she has for many years done a great job on my hair and been a counsellor, listening to my woes and I would love to make her this cake as a way of saying thanks for everything

Leave a Reply

