MasterChef Recipe: Moroccan Chicken with Chickpeas


I am so excited about this recipe! When I spotted it in MasterChef magazine I thought ‘it looks nice, I should give it a try, I suppose’. As you can tell, I wasn’t overly inspired by it. The end result was such a lovely, fresh and sweet dish that I can’t wait to make it again, in a vegetarian version! Not that the chicken didn’t turn out tender and juicy (cause it certainly did!) but I am the type of girl who, if eating a curry or a stew, will be totally satisfied to just eat the sauce with some rice, minus the chicken, beef, lamb, etc. I can see this dish, minus the meat, being a great lunch to take to work – the combination of chickpeas and vegetables is my kind of food!

I haven’t mentioned before but I am an avid lover of vegetarian food! I hope to include more vego recipes on this blog in the future.

The second exciting thing about this recipe is that it was originally made by Jonathan on MasterChef Australia (and hence my first time blogging about a MasterChef recipe, for those of you MasterChef fanatics!). Jonathan included preserved lemon and used authentic Moroccan spices I didn’t get my hands on, but I think as a weeknight family meal it still shines without them.

P.S. Little man loved this dish too!

Recipe adapted from MasterChef Magazine, as featured on MasterChef

140ml olive oil
1 tablespoon Moroccan seasoning
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3 cloves garlic, 2 crushed and 1 sliced
4 chicken marylands or 1 kilo chicken drumsticks
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon honey
1 large orange sweet potato, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces
3/4 cup stringless beans, chopped
500ml chicken stock
400g can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 cup coriander leaves, chopped
Cooked cous cous to serve

Combine 1/4 cup (60ml) oil with the spices and crushed garlic in a bowl and season with salt and pepper. Add chicken and toss to coat. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large, deep frying pan over medium-high heat. Add chicken and brown all over. Move to a plate.

Heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil in the pan (make sure you keep those sticky caramelised bits of chicken) and then add the sliced garlic, onion and honey, and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until onions are soft. Add sweet potato, beans, stock and chicken and bring to the boil. Cover and cook for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is thoroughly cooked.

Remove chicken from the pan again. Stir in chickpeas, tomatoes and coriander.

Divide cous cous and chicken amongst bowls and top with casserole.

Leave a Reply

