Fettucine Bolognese


If you don’t already know, my heritage is Italian and Scottish. Interesting combination hey? Growing up my mum prepared a lot of Italian food – pasta, soups, legumes, along with a lunch staple of cured meats, cheeses and pickled vegetables, always with bread. The great thing was (and still is!) that mum is Scottish, not Italian. She learned to cook amazing Italian food from her mother-in-law and I put money on the fact that her dishes are better than her mother-in-law’s and all her sisters-in-law. We joke amongst my family that mum isn’t Scottish nor Australian, she is Italian.

The traditional pasta dish in my family isn’t fettucine bolognese (I promise to make that signature dish one day for this blog) but nonetheless, bolognese still reminds me of home. This dish you are looking at contains home-made fettucine made by my aunt and grandmother, and I wish you could somehow taste it through the screen because it is so soft and silky, like all pasta should be.

This bolognese is my version, with vegetables for the little bambino (much to the disgust of hubby) and more sauce to meat ratio (hubby usually gets the majority of the meat!). Tell me what you think!

1/2 large brown onion, finely chopped
1-2 garlic cloves, crushed or thinly sliced
1 small carrot, diced
1 small zucchini, diced
20g real butter
500g minced beef, or a any combination of meats like pork and veal
1/2 cup dry red wine
700ml tomato passata/sugo
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried or fresh parsley
1/8 cup of milk

Slowly cook your onion, garlic, carrot and zucchini in a little olive oil. When soft and translucent, add the butter and melt. Add the minced meat and over high heat, brown it, watching that the vegies don’t burn. Add the red wine and cook til it evaporates. Add the tomato passata and the herbs and a 1/2 cup water if your tomato passata is quite concentrated and acidic. Bring to the boil and then simmer for 1 hour.

Just before serving, add the milk and season with salt and pepper, if needed. Serve with pasta of your choice, preferably some lovely fresh pasta you’ve made yourself or have bought (I really should get around to making my own pasta hey?) and a sprinkling of parmesan or pecorino cheese.

Hanging out for a sweet dish? I know, there’s been so many savoury lately but this weekend, I promise to bring you something sweet and citrusy that teams brilliantly with cream or ice-cream – a perfect winter dessert!

Leave a Reply

