Restaurant Review: Andre’s Cucina & Polenta Bar

I love eating out as much as I like to cook. I’m also much more critical of other people’s food than my own (which probably isn’t a good thing at times!). My husband and I are a great team when we eat out (two Matt Prestons without the cravats) – we always rate the restaurant as we leave, and then again when we’ve had time to mull over the experience (my hubby has a bad habit of doing a complete 180 sometimes). We don’t eat out much anymore, what with having a 21 month old, but when we do, it makes the experience so much better.

I dined without hubby a few weeks back. Two of my best friends and I ate lunch at new hotspot Andre’s Cucina & Polenta Bar, which is only across the road from my place of work. I may be a little biased as Andre is a friend of my brother’s but the food really was lovely. The girls and I ordered bresaola e rughetta (which translates to cured and air dried beef and rocket) and polenta con funghi e fontina (polenta with mushrooms and fontina cheese). Let me tell you that I could have eaten a bucket full of the polenta! It was so creamy and velvety and light and packed full of flavour. The oozey cheese on top was yummy. The beef and rocket was also good, the rocket dressed well with oil and salt and the walnuts gave a nice contrast in texture. The baked ricotta was creamy and not overpowered by other flavours, just nice and simple.


Picture from Andre’s Cucina & Polenta Bar

We were very happy with our lunch and it left us satisfied – not too full to return to work for the afternoon, although, after a glass of tempranillo, it was easy to think of nothing more than sitting in the cosy booth seat until knock-off time.

So my rating out of 10, my hubby did ask? I gave Andre’s an eight. I can’t wait to go back and try another style of polenta, plus its inspired me to try the polenta con funghi e fontina at home!

Leave a Reply

