Chicken and vegetable rolls

Sometimes I find it extremely hard to come up with weeknight meals for myself, my hubby and my little boy. Sausage rolls are not the healthiest food for you, but I came across this recipe that I thought was pretty good – quite low-fat if you use low-fat puff pastry and the chicken mince is much healthier than processed sausage meat. I also like the addition of the vegies.

My husband and I really enjoyed the end result, even if the munchkin didn’t! Surprising hey, considering the recipe came from a children’s cook book. I think next time I will add a little more seasoning as they were a tad bland – probably because they are a recipe for children. I will make them again and hopefully little man will come around.

Adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly’s Fresh Food for Babies and Toddlers

500g chicken mince
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 medium brown onion, grated
1 medium carrot, finely grated
100g green breans, trimmed and finely chopped
125g can creamed corn
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 tablespoon tomato sauce
3 sheets ready-rolled puff pastry (I always use low-fat)
1 egg, lightly beaten, to glaze rolls

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

Using your hands, combine all of the ingredients up to the tomato sauce, and season with salt and pepper.

Cut pastry sheets in half lengthways. Place equal amounts of chiken mixture lengthways along centre of each pastry piece; roll each pastry piece from one wide edge to enclose filling. Cut each roll into six pieces (or two pieces if you are making these for a meal).

Place seam side down on trays; brush with egg and if you have any, sprinkle with sesame seeds. Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden brown and cooked through.

Leave a Reply

