Chocolate chip cookies

How’s that for a photo! Maybe I shouldn’t harp on about my compact camera afterall?

Today was the first time in many, many months that I’ve made my choc chip cookies. Probably a sign that I’ve really ditched the diet for good hey? (Man I hate winter!) I first became addicted to these cookies when I’d just had my baby and a friend baked a batch and brought them over for me. They were heavenly! She said they were so easy to make that I had to give it a try, only she didn’t actually have a recipe. After researching and experimenting with many different recipes this is now my favourite. I started off wanting a thick, chewy cookie – not crispy. But, this recipe will give you crispy-on-the-outside, chewy-in-the-middle cookies, which is definitely still delicious!

Makes 18 cookies

1/3 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2/3 cup self-raising flour
1 cup plain flour
1 egg, lightly beaten
125g melted butter, cooled
200g dark choc chips

Preheat your oven to 160 degrees fan forced or 170 degrees without the fan. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

In a bowl combine sugars and flours and mix well so that everything is thoroughly combined. Melt the butter and have it standing by. Add the egg and melted butter and mix well until a dough forms. Mix in the choc chips.

Roll 1/8 cup of dough into balls and place on baking trays. Pat the balls down slightly to flatten, tidying up the edges as you go to make sure your cookies are nice and round.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. You want the edges of your cookies to be firm but the centres to still be undercooked. Let cool on the tray. Best eaten warm!!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate chip cookies

  1. Hi Heather, no I haven't tried freezing as usually they get eaten in a day or two and there's none left to freeze! I would be interested to know though. When I make another batch I will try freezing one or two and let you know.

  2. Pingback: Caramel Chip Cookies with Salt Sprinkles | sweet ravioli!

Leave a Reply

