Rachel’s Chicken Enchiladas

You will notice that photos of my savoury meals are of lesser quality than my sweet ones – that’s because I take photos of my savoury meals while I’m eating them! And usually at that time its dark, so natural light is non-existant, and with my simpleton point and shoot camera, they turn out less than inspiring. So apologies.

Back to this dish! I’ve called it ‘Rachel’s’ Chicken Enchiladas because this recipe became so far removed from where I started, I really couldn’t call it anything else. It morphed into something between a cannelloni and a stir-fry! I know that doesn’t sound very appetising, but trust me, it was, and it was relatively healthy to boot, which is always a plus!

Since making this dish, I’ve done a lot more research and I’m determined to perfect the recipe, so I’ll keep you up to date with how I go. In the meantime, here is my first attempt:

Recipe adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

1 medium brown onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon chilli powder
1 teaspoon oregano
500g chicken breast/tenderloin/thigh (your choice!) chopped
2 large swiss brown mushrooms, chopped
1 cup broccoli florets
1 medium capsicum, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons plain flour
1 bottle of tomato passata
1 and half cups chicken stock
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
salt and pepper to taste
8 tortillas
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
Sour cream to serve

For the filling:

Heat some oil in a large fry pan and sweat off the onions and garlic. Add the spices and cook until fragrant. Add the chicken and broccoli and cook for 4-5 minutes. Add the capsicum, cook for 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms, cook until vegetables are tender and chicken is cooked through. Remove from pan.

For the sauce:

Heat oil in a saucepan and once hot, stir in flour, reducing heat to medium. Cook flour until light brown, stirring constantly to prevent burning. Gradually stir in tomato sauce, chicken broth, garlic powder, and onion salt into the flour until smooth, and continue cooking over medium heat approximately 10 minutes or until lightly thickened. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

When your filling and sauce is cooked, warm your tortillas in a microwave. Spread 1/3 of the sauce over the bottom of a lasagne dish. Fill each tortilla with some filling, roll up and place seam side down in the dish. When the dish is full, pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas, being careful not to drown them (I did unfortunately!) Sprinkle with the cheese and cover with foil. Bake in a pre-heated 180 degree oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake until enchiladas look crisp and golden. Serve with some sour cream.

2 thoughts on “Rachel’s Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

