Baked Lemon Tart

Lemon tart has always been one of my favourite desserts! I can’t get enough of lemon curd, lemon cake, even lemon in savoury dishes is divine! I’ve been wanting to make a lemon tart for a long time but have always been a bit scared. I finally decided to give it a go.

I did chicken-out on the pastry though. I still can’t get over my fear of making pastry . . although I’ve made a savoury pastry once for a quiche but because I was making this tart for a dinner party, I couldn’t afford any stuff ups! So I simply bought frozen pre-prepared flan shells – I used two of these in my recipe. If you are using ready-rolled pastry, you’ll need a 20cm/8 inch flan tin.

This tart was very, very tart! I think my lemons were too big so I overdid the lemon a teeny bit, but then some of my guests loved the tartness! It went down ever so nicely with a dollop of cream.

I think next time I will omit the zest, as it left the filling a bit grainy and perhaps will kill a little of the tartness.

baked lemon tart adapted from James Martin

5 eggs (minimum weight 59g)
3/4 cup caster sugar
250 ml double cream
4 lemons, juice and zest

2 pre-prepared sweet flans or ready rolled pastry
icing sugar for dusting, extra double cream for dolloping

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celcius. Once preheated, place your frozen pastry shell into the oven for 10 minutes and then remove. Turn the oven down to 150.

Meanwhile, crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk gently to break up the yolks. Add the sugar and mix well. Add the cream and the lemon juice and stir. Pass the mixture through a sieve and set aside.

Pour the filling into the pastry shells and bake in the oven for about 45 minutes, or until the filling is just set and the pastry is golden-brown.

Chill in the fridge for 2 hours. Service with a dusting of icing sugar and a dollop of cream.

Leave a Reply

